Welcome to COSSA Practical Shooters (CPS)

Safety Requirement: If you are planning on shooting at one of our local events for the first time, please create an account on the website (free) and take the required online safety quiz. Thanks!

New Shooters: For your first event, we want to you focus on safety. We offer to pair you up with a mentor during your first event (or whenever you want) if you would like one. Your mentor is there to answer any questions, help you with your firearms, and walk you through the basics of safe shooting. Please do not buy a bunch of gear before your first event. Come out and borrow gear or observe an event and talk with the shooters. After that, decide on what you want for gear. If you are a shooter who would like to borrow gear (firearms, ammunition, holsters, etc), please feel free to contact us and we will work with you. Don't let a lack of gear prevent you from attending an event!

 

Event Calendar

Event Match Date/Time Setup Time Registration Link Results Link(s)
Steel Challenge Sat, Mar 24 2018 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
9:00 am
USPSA Sat, Apr 7 2018 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
8:30 am
CPS Intro to Practical Shooting Competition Sat, Apr 14 2018 - 10:00am to 2:30pm
9:00 am
3Gun and 2Gun Sat, Apr 21 2018 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
8:30 am
USPSA NROI Range Officer Class Sat, Apr 28 2018 - 8:00am to Sun, Apr 29 2018 - 3:00pm
Steel Challenge Sat, Apr 28 2018 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
8:30 am
USPSA Sat, May 5 2018 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
8:30 am
CPS Intro to Practical Shooting Competition Sat, May 12 2018 - 10:00am to 2:30pm
9:00 am
3Gun and 2Gun Sat, May 19 2018 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
8:30 am
Steel Challenge Sat, May 26 2018 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
8:30 am
USPSA Sat, Jun 2 2018 - 9:00am to 1:00pm
7:30 am
CPS Intro to Practical Shooting Competition Sat, Jun 9 2018 - 10:00am to 2:30pm
9:00 am
3Gun and 2Gun Sat, Jun 16 2018 - 9:00am to 1:00pm
7:30 am
USPSA Oregon State Championship Wed, Jun 20 2018 - 8:00am to Mon, Jun 25 2018 - 4:00pm
Steel Challenge Sat, Jun 30 2018 - 9:00am to 1:00pm
7:30 am
USPSA Sat, Jul 7 2018 - 9:00am to 1:00pm
7:30 am
Northwest Multigun Setup Phase 1 Sat, Jul 14 2018 - 7:00am to Sun, Jul 15 2018 - 9:00pm
Northwest Multigun Setup Phase 2 Mon, Jul 16 2018 - 7:00am to Tue, Jul 17 2018 - 9:00pm
Northwest Multigun Staff Match Wed, Jul 18 2018 - 7:00am to Thu, Jul 19 2018 - 5:00pm
Northwest Multigun Main Match Fri, Jul 20 2018 - 7:00am to Sun, Jul 22 2018 - 2:00pm

CPS Philosophy

At every event, we strive for:

    Safety - a big part of any shooting sport!
    Sportsmanship - we want a friendly and encouraging environment.
    Fun - enjoy a day at the range with your friends both new and old.

3Gun/2Gun

USPSA

USPSA - This is a pistol discipline that focuses on the balance of speed and accuracy. Through creative stage design, shooters are encouraged to find the quickest and most accurate way to engage multiple targets. Various props such as rooms, vehicles, fences, barricades, barrels, etc. are utilized to present interesting challenges.

Become a USPSA Member

Steel Challenge

What is the Steel Challenge?

The Steel Challenge as a match has a history which rivals USPSA's own. In his column in the July 1986 Front Sight, then-USPSA president Dave Stanford wrote:

The match is highly spectator-friendly and the competition is easy to understand – it is all about the speed. And by maintaining consistent challenges from year to year, the competition lends itself to the notion of setting – and breaking – speed records, which greatly adds to the excitement for shooters, spectators and media.

IDPA

IDPA - Similar to USPSA events but requires conformance to what would be used in a concealed carry/defensive mode. Cover must be used and scenarios more closely approximate what might be expected in a self-defense situation. Accuracy is also more heavily emphasized.

Become a IDPA Member

IDPA competition rulebook